Remember To Vote On Thursday

Londoners go to the polls to elect Mayor and London Assembly members


Sign up for our weekly Chiswick newsletter

Comment on this story on the

On Thursday 5 May, more than five million Londoners will make their way to polling stations across the capital to elect a new Mayor of London and 25 London Assembly Members.

If you need to know where your nearest polling station is you can use an online tool , select ‘Ways of voting’ and enter your postcodes into the polling station finder search box. The polling station finder will then produce the address of your allocated polling station and show its proximity to your home on an interactive map.

The results of this election will determine how London will be governed from City Hall for the next four years. Counting starts at 8am on Friday 6 May with constituency declarations being made at the count centres (Olympia, Alexandra Palace, ExCel). The declaration of the Mayoral and London wide Assembly Member results will be made at City Hall.

You can only vote at the polling station which has been assigned to you so it’s important you know where you’re going. The location of the polling station is also available on the polling card registered voters should have received through the post. You do not need to take your polling card to vote.

These elections are for the Mayor of London, the 14 Constituency London Assembly Members, and the 11 London-wide Assembly Members. You will be given three ballot papers when you vote.

Mayor of London

You can make a first and second choice from the list of candidates. Click on the names to read their mini-manifestos.

BERRY, Sian Rebecca - Green Party

FURNESS, David - British National Party

GALLOWAY, George - Respect (George Galloway)

GOLDING, Paul - Britain First - Putting British people first

GOLDSMITH, Zac - The Conservative Party Candidate

HARRIS, Lee Eli - Cannabis is Safer Than Alcohol

KHAN, Sadiq Aman - Labour Party

LOVE, Ankit - One Love Party

PIDGEON, Caroline Valerie - London Liberal Democrats

WALKER, Sophie - Women's Equality Party

WHITTLE, Peter Robin - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

ZYLINSKI, Prince - Independent

Constituency Assembly Members

You can make one vote for the candidate you would like to represent you in your local area. Candidates either represent a political party or are standing as an independent. The candidates and political parties vary between each of the 14 Constituencies. You can only vote for the candidates standing in your local Constituency.

Those nominated for the South West Constituency in the London Assembly which covers the combined areas of the London Boroughs of Hounslow,Kingston upon Thames, and Richmond upon Thames are:

ARBOUR, Tony - The Conservative Party Candidate

BUICK, Adam John Lewis - The Socialist Party (SP-GB)

CRAIG, Alexander Alan - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

FRIEZE, Andree Michelle - Green Party

ROBSON, Rosina Jane - London Liberal Democrats

WHELTON, Martin James - Labour Party

View the full list of Constituency Assembly Member candidates

London-wide Assembly Members

You also have one vote for the political party you want to represent the whole of the London. There are 11 London-wide Assembly Member seats in total and the candidates will be elected in the order they appear on the list. For example, if the party wins two seats, the first two candidates on the list will be elected.

How to vote

Polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm on election day.


May 4, 2016

Bookmark and Share