New Plan for Chiswick's Parliamentary Constituency

Boundary Commission now proposing Isleworth, Brentford and Chiswick seat

Boundary Commission's proposed Isleworth, Brentford and Chiswick seat
Boundary Commission's proposed Isleworth, Brentford and Chiswick seat


Split Chiswick Up In Boundary Changes Says Ruth Cadbury

Boundary Commission Proposes Reuniting Chiswick

Sign up for our weekly Chiswick newsletter

Comment on this story on the

The Boundary Commission have issued new proposals for the borders of parliamentary constituencies in the UK. Under the plan the whole of Chiswick would come under a new Isleworth, Brentford and Chiswick constituency which would incorporate the parts of W4 currently in the Ealing Central and Acton seat which is held for Labour by Rupa Huq.

The borders are very similar to the proposed Brentford and Chiswick seat which the Boundary Commission consulted on last year. The main change from the original plan seems to be the addition of Isleworth to the name. There was substantial support among those who responded to the consultation for the idea of uniting the whole of Chiswick under one MP.

The Isleworth, Brentford and Chiswick seat will incorporate the area between Northfields tube station and Boston Manor Road but the area of Hounslow west of Isleworth and down to Hounslow Heath will become part of a new Feltham and Hounslow constituency.

Labour MP Ruth Cadbury, who currently represents Brentford and Isleworth, which incorporates the parts of Chiswick in Hounslow borough objected to the original Boundary Commission proposal and suggested an alternative that would have seen two Chiswick wards moved to an Ealing and Acton constituency.

Ruth Cadbury
Ruth Cadbury MP

We have asked for her comment on the latest proposal and await a reply.

The rules set out in the legislation on boundary changes state that there will be 600 Parliamentary constituencies covering the UK – a reduction of 50 from the current number. This means that the number of constituencies in England must be reduced from 533 to 501. The reduction was the idea of David Cameron's government and a cost-cutting measure in response to the expenses scandal.

Each constituency has to have an electorate that is no smaller than 71,031 and no larger than 78,507. There will be 32 fewer seats in England, six fewer in Scotland and eleven fewer in Wales with Northern Ireland losing one.

It widely expected that the proposals are unlikely to make immediate progress given the Government's thin majority and dependence on the Democratic Unionist Party who have opposed previous proposals to change boundaries. If parliament does approve the plan it will take effect at the time of the next election due to take place in 2022.

October 17, 2017

Bookmark and Share