The Marylebone Trio Delight Our Reviewer

Bach, Schubert and Mozart included in concert for Blenheim Music Circle


The next concert is on Sunday 15 th July 2012 at 3.30 pm in the Chiswick Catholic Centre

The pianist Christopher Duckett will play

Syncopated piano music of the 1920’s and 30’s

Sign up for our free weekly newsletter

Comment on this story on the

The Marylebone Trio is a classical woodwind trio that was formed in 2003 by postgraduate students of the Royal Academy of Music: They consist of Jemma Bausor –Oboe, Jessica Tipton – Clarinet and Alexandra Davidson – Bassoon.

On Sunday, 13th May they gave a splendid concert for the Blenheim Music Circle at the Catholic Centre in Duke’s Avenue.

The programme opened with their arrangement of some Bach Three-Part Inventions. Purists may have found these a problem, but there was delightful, sensitive playing throughout in spite of the tempi sometimes leading to rather rushed articulation.

The Schubert Allegro that followed was originally written for Violin, Viola and ‘Cello but lent itself well to this combination of woodwind instruments. It was beautifully played and made one wish that Schubert had written other movements.

The two Divertimenti by Endre Szekely, a Hungarian composer who died in 1988, were the first works in the programme that were written for this combination of instruments. They were lovely pieces with a strong “folk music” flavor. Aexandra Davidson came into her own here with elegant phrasing and a focused tone.

Telemann’s Fantasia no. 2 for solo oboe was originally written for solo flute, but I have to say I much preferred the weightier tone of the oboe. Jemma Bausor’s playing was quite outstanding in this piece. The Adagio was controlled and well crafted and the following Allegro was played with flamboyant skill and thrilling articulation in the embellished repeat sections.

The first half of the afternoon ended with Ropshita Trio by Alex Silverman. This work was commissioned by the Marylebone Trio and, with its Indian Ragas, Jewish intervals and Polish folk themes, it exploited the timbres of each instrument to the full with the haunting melodies and the repeated two-note material towards its end.

In the second half of the concert we heard a Mozart Divertimento, Cinq pieces en trio by Ibert, Variations on a Mozart theme by Beethoven (originally written for two oboes and a cor anglais) and two superb solos; The Adagio from Sonata in D minor for solo bassoon by CPE Bach and Hommage à Manuel de Falla for Solo Clarinet by Bela Kovàcs. Both solo pieces displayed the exceptional technical expertise of the players.

This was an excellent concert with a large audience who must be commended for ignoring the sunshine outside it! We look forward to hearing more of this talented ensemble.

Phoebe Woollam

May 18, 2012

Bookmark and Share