Local Constituency Boundaries to Change

Brentford and Isleworth reduced in size


Brentford and Isleworth Constituency

General Election Result - Ealing Central and Acton

Sign up for a free newsletter from ChiswickW4.com and BrentfordTW8.com

Local constituency boundaries for the next election are set to be changed following recommendations from the Boundary Commission.

The overhaul which has seen 90% of London's Westminster constituencies having their boundaries changed has provided mixed news for sitting local MPs.

The Brentford and Isleworth constituency loses one ward, Hounslow Heath, which has traditionally returned Labour councillors in local elections, a move which is likely to bolster the position of Mary Macleod who holds the seat for the Conservatives.

She said, "I am delighted to keep the majority of my existing constituents for the next General Election but will be sad to lose residents in Hounslow Heath. I have spent a lot of time in the Hounslow Heath ward over the last four years and have really enjoyed getting to know people there."

Angie Bray, who currently represents the Ealing and Central Acton constituency which includes the northern part of Chiswick in Ealing borough, will see her seat effectively disappear with some of the wards being incorporated into a new Ealing constituency and others, including Southfield ward becoming part of a new Hammersmith and Acton constituency which includes East Acton, Hammersmith and Shepherd's Bush much of which is currently in the Hammersmith constituency held by Andy Slaughter for Labour.

The Boundary Commission for England reviews Parliamentary constituency boundaries every five years. In this review they were aiming to standardise the electorate of constituencies hence the large number of changes to existing boundaries. The rules contained in new legislation state that every constituency in England (except two covering the Isle of Wight) must have an electorate of between 72,810 and 80,473 – that is 5% either side of the electoral quota of 76,641. The new constituencies are likely to be the ones used for the next election which is currently expected to be in 2015.

They are consulting on their initial proposals for a 12-week period, from 13 September 2011 to 5 December 2011. They are encouraging everyone to contribute to the design of the new constituencies. There will also be public hearings to discuss the changes.

The London region comprises the 32 London boroughs and the City of London. The region currently has 73 constituencies but this will fall to 68 if the new proposals are adopted.

In the Borough of Hounslow, the electorate was too large for two constituencies hence the transfer of Hounslow Heath ward to a new Teddington and Hanworth constituency.

The consultation website is at www.consultation.boundarycommissionforengland.independent.gov.uk. This contains reports and maps, the electorate sizes of every ward and an online facility where you can have your say on the initial proposals.

You can also contribute to the consultation by writing directly to: BoundaryCommission for England, 35 Great Smith Street, London SW1P 3BQ. Or email


September 13, 2011